This email address is being protected from spambots. You need JavaScript enabled to view it.

manzo v jV.J. MANZO (PhD Temple University, M.M. New York University) is Associate Professor of Music Technology and Cognition at Worcester Polytechnic Institute (WPI). He is a composer and guitarist with research interests in theory and composition, artificial intelligence, interactive music systems, music cognition, and electric guitar performance. At WPI, he is the co-director of the Media Arts Group Innovation Center (MAGIC), and directs labs related to interactive music system development and electronic device manufacturing. Manzo is author of several books published by Oxford University Press including Max/MSP/Jitter for Music, Foundations of Music Technology, and co-author of Interactive Composition and Environmental Sound Artists. He has created numerous software projects including the Modal Object Library, a collection of programming objects to control harmony in algorithmic and electro-acoustic compositions, and EAMIR, an open-source project and 501c3 non-profit charity organization that supports composition, performance, education, and research through accessible technology-based musical instruments. He is the founder of Clear Blue Media, a boutique production company that develops and distributes multimedia, music, and interactive software applications including music-oriented games, educational systems, and performance software for interactive music. He is also the co-founder of Fuse, an electronic and pro-audio hardware manufacturer.

Editorial Board: Music Business-Industry

Scott Barton
Worcester Polytechnic Institute

Frederick Bianchi
Worcester Polytechnic Institute

Don Bowyer
Arkansas State University

Frank Clark
Georgia Tech University

Socrates Garcia
University of Northern Colorado

Sanford Hinderlie
Loyola University

Leon Janikian
Northeastern University

Catherine Radbill
New York University

Rick Schmunk
University of Southern California

Kim Wangler
Appalachian State University